I’ve been so busy in my garden that I haven’t had time to write so far this spring. But I promised a friend this recipe, and while it doesn’t contain garden vegetables as written (I haven’t tried growing lentils yet), any number of garden vegetables can be added, depending on your taste. Personally, I like adding some spinach best, but diced carrots or baby peas work well too.

At any rate, this recipe originally came to me nearly forty years ago as a curried chicken recipe. But then I became a near-vegan (with small, occasional dairy lapses). Hence, curried lentils.

Here goes:

3 T olive oil
1 T curry powder (amount can vary, keeping in mind the strength of your curry and your personal preference)
3 T flour
2-1/2 c vegetable broth
1/2 c golden raisins
2 c cooked lentils
2 c white or brown rice
1/2 c toasted slivered almonds

Make a roux by warming oil in a saucepan, stirring in curry powder and flour. Stir in the vegetable broth and cook until the broth begins to thicken. Add the golden raisins and cooked lentils, stirring, until warm. Serve over rice, and sprinkle almonds over top. Serves 4 to 6.

As I said, this recipe is easily adapted to your own personal tastes. Want chicken curry? Then use cooked diced chicken in place of the lentils and chicken broth in place of the vegetable broth.

